Academic Council

The members of the NEWTON University Academic Council (hereinafter referred to as the “Academic Council”) are appointed by the Chancellor, with the approval of the statutory body, from among the members of the NEWTON University academic community and other distinguished professionals, particularly in the fields in which NEWTON University carries out its educational and creative activities.

The Academic Board shall consist of a minimum of eleven members and shall be chaired by the Chancellor of NEWTON University. At least one third of the members of the Academic Board shall be persons other than members of the NEWTON University academic community. The term of office of the members of the Academic Board shall be five years. Meetings of the Academic Board shall be convened by the Chancellor at least once per Academic Year. The Chancellor shall be obliged to convene a meeting of the Academic Board when requested to do so by at least half of its members.

The Academic Council shall express its opinion in particular on matters submitted to it by the statutory body of the university, and shall normally discuss:

  • NEWTON University’s draft strategic plan, as well as annual plans for implementing NEWTON University’s strategic plan,
  • plans for developing and/​or making changes to degree programmes and specialisations,
  • the conclusions of the evaluation of the implementation of the study programmes and their specialisations,
  • draft rules for the system of quality assurance of educational, creative and related activities and internal evaluation of the quality of educational, creative and related activities, as well as a draft report on the internal evaluation of the quality of educational, creative and related activities,
  • proposals for visiting professorships at NEWTON University.

The Academic Council, in accordance with Section 53 of the Act, approves professors, associate professors and other experts, such as members of examination boards for state final examinations, who have the right to examine at the state examination.

The Academic Board’s own activities and the manner of its deliberations are regulated by the Rules of Procedure of the Academic Board.

Composition of the Academic Board

  • doc. PhDr. PaedDr. Eva Ambrozová, Ph.D., Head of the Centre for Humanities / NEWTON University; lecturer
  • Ing. Alfred Brunclík Manager in Construction
  • prof. Ing. Pawel Czarnecki, PhD., MBA, LL.M, MPH, Dr h.c. Mult, Chancellor of Collegium Humanum, Szkoła Glówna Menadżerską w Warszawie
  • MUDr. Bc. Tomáš Fiala, MBA, Director of the hospital in Strakonice; Chairman of the Board of Directors of Jihočeská nemocniční, a.s.
  • doc. RNDr. PhDr. Oldřich Hájek, Ph.D., MBA, lecturer; director of an educational company
  • Ing. Libor Hájek, President Emeritus of Eltodo EG
  • Ing. Jan Cholenský, CSc., President of the Society for Ploughing of the Czech Republic
  • PhDr. Marian Jelínek, Ph.D., lecturer; independent expert, coach
  • doc. Ing. Jiří Koleňák, Ph.D., MBA Vice-Chancellor of NEWTON University; lecturer
  • RNDr. Jan Koukal, CSc., lecturer, NEWTON University
  • doc. RNDr. Miroslav Kureš, Ph.D., lecturer at NEWTON University; also lecturer at Brno University of Technology
  • Ing. Milan Lindner, Ph.D., Vice-Chancellor of the University of National Sciences; lecturer; also lecturer at the University of Economics, Prague
  • Assoc. prof. Mariola Liszoková, PhDr., PhD., Dean, Faculty of Education, WSM, Karviná
  • prof. Ing. Martin Mandel, CSc., Head of the Department of Monetary Theory and Practice, VŠE
  • Ing. Vladimír Měkota, Director of Management System Development and ICT Strategy and Vice-Chairman of the Board of Vítkovice, a.s.
  • Jan Mojžíš, M.D., MBA, Chancellor of NEWTON University
  • doc. PhDr. Jitka Němcová, Ph.D., Chancellor of Medical University, Prague
  • prof. Ing. Petr Němeček, DrSc.
  • PhDr. et Mgr. Barbora Pánková, Ph.D., MBA, lecturer at NEWTON University
  • Anna Plechatá Krausová, DPhil., Vice-Chancellor for International Relations at NEWTON University
  • doc. MUDr. Martin Stříteský, Ph.D., health care manager
  • PhDr. Mgr. Vít Šimral, Ph.D. & Ph.D., Prague City Councillor
  • Prof. RNDr. Ing. Ĺudomír Šlahor, CSc.
  • prof. PhDr. Ing. Vladimír Tomšík, Ph.D., guarantor of the study programme at the University of Science and Technology, lecturer
  • Ing. Lenka Žlebková, Director General of the Prague Congress Centre